“Hobbies”

Well hello again 🙂

I will skip the usual “sorry I have neglected you blog, etc etc etc”, and go straight to what is on my mind, k? k.

Am I the only one (I’m sure I am not. . please let me not be) that is utterly useless at maintaining a hobby. I think it is sadly safe to say, that this blog is the most consistent hobby I have ever had. . I say this in the full knowledge that I often disappear from the blogesphere, and when I do return, it is usually useless shit like this that I choose to splurge out.

I have been through the various phases of hobby; guitar, drums at one very distant point, exercise (lol), cycling – although to be fair I still am really keen to get involved in. But I refuse to own any type of bike that isn’t one with a little basket and a bell, and they are pricey. . what else, hmm. . oh yes, jewellery making, that was a thing once. Basically long story short, I have spent quite a decent amount of my money (and parents money in the younger years) over my life span on various interests that sooner or later, usually sooner, gather dust in a corner. My £££’s worth of jewellery making material hasn’t seen the light of day in a good few years!

My point? Well, I have spent the past hour searching Ebay for a ukelele and I sense one of these phases on the horizon. But this time, before I go buying, I want to find out how normal people with will power take up a new hobby, and then stick to it for a respected amount of time, enough for them then to be able to say, “Yes, I used to play the guitar” . . as at the minute, other than blogging, there really isn’t anything I can say that I “used” to do.

As usual WordPress, I am looking to you for advice =]

In other news, I have taken to the bedroom for my Saturday night, and I’m about to snuggle down watching Sweeney Todd! . . Is bed a hobby? I can definitely profess that,

“Yes, I often spend my free time in bed”

2 thoughts on ““Hobbies”

  1. I too cost my parents a lot of money with my Brownies, jujitsu, ballet, and drama obsessions – all of which I left the week after I got the uniform. It’s all in the wording. Try “I have a broad range of interests” or “I can adapt to many varying activities” (I have written a fair few cv’s and job applications in my time).
    Totally behind being in bed as a hobby though, sod the bake off let’s have a nap off!

Leave a comment